About Us

The Catholic Diocese of Karonga is found in the Northern part of Malawi. Malawi is a landlocked country found in South Eastern Africa with a size of about 118,000km². It is bordered by Tanzania to North East, Zambia to the North West and Mozambique to the South East and South West.

The Diocese is fairly new, created on 21st July 2010 by Pope emeritus Benedict XVI. It was officially inaugurated on 20th November 2010, on the same day Rt. Rev. Martin Anwel Mtumbuka was consecrated as the chief shepherd of the Diocese.
The Diocese of Karonga covers the two entire districts of Karonga and Chitipa and some northern parts of Rumphi district.

Previously, the area that is under the Diocese of Karonga was under the Diocese of Mzuzu; it was the Northern Deanery of the Diocese of Mzuzu. Its administrative centre at Karonga town At the time the Diocese of Karonga was established, the area had an estimated 451,861 people covering an estimated area of 12,000 km². From the 451,861 people, the Diocese had about 60,000 Catholics representing 14%.
According to the 2008 population census, the population of Karonga and Chitipa was 272, 789 and 179,072 respectively. The two districts had population growth rate of 3.5 %.
With the population of parts of Rumphi and also if the population growth rate of 3.5% is factored in, it means that the Diocese of Karonga is currently serving an estimated population of about 590,000.

The Diocese of Karonga covers some of the areas in the country that are hard to reach. The Diocese is flanked by Lake Malawi on the eastern side and on the western side there are mountainous areas. The Diocese reaches out to areas like Livingstonia, Nyika plateau and Misuku hills.

The area is predominantly Tumbuka speaking but the residents use other languages such as Lambya, Ndali, Nyakyusa, Ngonde. The Way We are Organised Following the Episcopal Conference of Malawi Strategic framework, the Diocese of Karonga is divided into three sections, namely: the Pastoral Commission, the Caritas Commission and the Finance, Investments and Administration. Each of these three sections is governed by a Board or Council. The Bishop is the head of the Diocese.
Currently, the Bishop is Rt. Rev. Martin Anwel Mtumbuka, and the Vicar General, Rev. Msgr. Denis Solomon Chetete.